The building was constructed in 1848 in the vernacular Gothic Revival style, at 85 King Street West, Dundas,
just west of Sydenham Street. Many recall it most recently as 'Dr. Bates' Office'.
Records indicate the land had been owned by Dr. John Willison who had practised medicine in Dundas from 1832 until his death in 1834. The actual structure, however, does not appear on assessment records until 1848. Once constructed the office did serve continuously as a doctor's office for these Dundas physicians:
- James Mitchell, 1840 - 1854
- James McMahon, 1852-1880
- David Gibson Inksetter, 1880-1882
- James Ross, 1883-1907
- Lyman Craig Lauchland, 1907-1935
- Clarence Lisle Bates, 1935-1974
In 1974, the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce located immediately to the east was planning a major expansion project, one that would have been perilous to the medical office. Dr. Bates moved his practice to another King Street location and chose to donate the historic Doctor's Office to the Dundas Museum.The building made its way on a flatbed truck from King Street to its current location on the Museum property. Restoration was undertaken to return the unique architecture more fully to the original 1848 appearance. In July of 1976 the Doctor's Office became the first property in Dundas to be designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.
The Doctor's Office is testament to 125 years of medical practice in Dundas. The exhibits on display today draw on the years from 1850 - 1900. This was a period of revolutionary medical advancements which significantly transformed the practice of the physician. It is a fascinating story, one that all ages will discover intriguing.
DUE TO BUILDING RENOVATIONS IT CURRENTLY IS NOT POSSIBLE TO VISIT THE DOCTOR'S OFFICE.
We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.